Literary Intentions 
 
Since I was a child, I’ve secretly scribbled out stories and poetry. I would tuck my creations away in an iridescent orange folder and slip it under my mattress—my secret, my coping mechanism for whatever life threw my way. I had always wanted to be a writer, but lacked the confidence to pursue my bliss.

It wasn’t until a family tragedy knocked everything out of whack that I thought I had any sort of talent for it. My mother-in-law passed away a few years ago on Easter. It was sudden and unexpected. Her death not only shook the family, but it became my inspiration to pick up a pen and write. 

A few days after the funeral, my four-year-old daughter interrupted story time to tell me something that had been weighing on her mind. She said Grandma Strawberry (My daughter’s nickname for her Grandma Atteberry) was a fairy who visits her in her dreams and they go on wonderful adventures together. She said when her daddy felt sad and missed his mom, all he had to do was close his eyes and find her: she would be waiting for him.

Through the eyes of a child . . .

My mind marinated in my daughter’s words, and after I put her to bed, I had the overwhelming urge to write a story about Grandma Strawberry and her many dreamland adventures—free of pain and full of happiness. I shared the story with my sister-in-law who later said it came on a day when she needed a nudge, a simple reminder her mom was okay and that she would forever live on. Her response was my nudge to pursue something that allowed me to feel a different sort of purpose besides wife and mother.

So, here I am nearly three years later. I’ve written two novels and nearly finished a third. I’ve placed in contests, and I’m currently seeking a literary agent. The one downside to it all is the fact that my mother-in-law isn’t here to root me on. She was a voracious reader, but more than that, she loved how a book made her feel. The waves of emotions, ebbing and flowing, freed her mind from the constant pain tearing through her body. The woman who sacrificed so much for her children could simply pick up a book and be whoever she wanted to be. I miss her, but thanks to my daughter, I now know when I need a little inspiration all I have to do is close my eyes and welcome the adventure.

1/26/2011 09:35:51 am

I love the story about Grandma Strawberry.

Reply
1/27/2011 12:51:28 pm

Beautiful story. Beautifully written.

Reply
12/30/2011 03:45:33 am

is quickly

Reply
1/24/2012 08:06:20 pm

Great info, thanks

Reply
1/25/2012 07:20:30 am

Nice one info, thx

Reply
3/21/2012 01:59:44 pm

will return quickly

Reply
3/25/2012 06:01:47 pm

Thank you for data

Reply
3/31/2012 07:05:24 am

Nice one info, thx

Reply
6/13/2012 09:20:37 pm

Good post bro

Reply
9/25/2012 01:03:58 am

Great info, thanks

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    RSS Feed

    Picture

    Author

    My name is Diana (a.k.a DS Tracy) I am a wife, mother,  and wannabe writer. One day, I hope to delete the wannabe part--no one likes a poser!  
     

    Click to set custom HTML

    Archives

    February 2011
    January 2011
    December 2010
    November 2010

    Click to set custom HTML



    ________________
    Add this to your site
    Click to set custom HTML
    Blogs I'm following:
    Whimsywritingandreading
    The Crazy Life of A Writing Mom
    Writing Delights
    Nathan Bransford